This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Arthur Mitchell has died

Sad news. I am sorry we will not have him around for more years but as Drew says, what a life!

Always an engaging interview, too, if not necessarily the most reliable of sources.

You are likely right, Tapfan. The interview I link to below certainly suggests that he wasn't close to his old troupe.

I hope that people who saw him dance in person will write about it here.

An interview from January of this year from the Times by Gia Kourlas.

Because of his closeness with the Russian-born Balanchine, Mr. Mitchell refers to himself as an African-American man raised like an old Russian aristocrat. “My relationship with him was totally different than with the other dancers,” Mr. Mitchell said. “It wasn’t about, ‘What role am I going to dance?’ But ‘What would you like me to do? Use me.’ And he did.”

When I was a young ballet student my mother took me to see NYCB. Mr. Mitchell was performing in AGON. He possessed an outstanding clarity and brilliance in his movements that I believe that only great dancers have.  (It is something that cannot be taught)   I'm thinking of Alonso, Maximova. Vasiliev,Dowell etc.  You have to experience them live.  You leave the theatre with a much lighter heart. I was very fortunate to see him.   RIP  and thank you Mr. Mitchell.

4 hours ago, dirac said:

Sad news. I am sorry we will not have him around for more years but as Drew says, what a life!

Always an engaging interview, too, if not necessarily the most reliable of sources.

You are likely right, Tapfan. The interview I link to below certainly suggests that he wasn't close to his old troupe.

I hope that people who saw him dance in person will write about it here.

An interview from January of this year from the Times by Gia Kourlas.

RIP, Mr. Mitchell. My heart sunk when I read this news today.