This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

I'm a student at a N.Y university, I study classical voice performance and personally feel that the Performing Arts Library has drastically declined in quality. The staff is generally inept and rude, there's a man who apparently is in charge of the music scores in the reserve floor who looks like a bum, I can't believe they have someone like that working there. The scores that are on reserve cannot be photocopied, what is the point of having these scores then? To take up space? They have scores that nobody can use. Personally, I never go there, I prefer buying the scores either on the internet or the Juilliard Bookstore.

"Upheaval at the New York Public Library" by Scott Sherman, November 30, 2011, The Nation

http://www.thenation...brary?page=full

Although the performing arts are not mentioned I would imagine that the issues covered in this article would have implications for the Performing Arts Library.

University libraries here on the other coast are getting rid of their stacks to make room for more group study areas and non book related business. If you want a book from the stacks, a robot gets it for you. No one wants to stand in the way of "progress." of course, but the whole point of stacks is to be able to wander through them and pull books at will. Browsing through titles electronically is not yet anything like the same thing. Oh, well.....

I'm a student at a N.Y university, I study classical voice performance and personally feel that the Performing Arts Library has drastically declined in quality. The staff is generally inept and rude, there's a man who apparently is in charge of the music scores in the reserve floor who looks like a bum, I can't believe they have someone like that working there.