This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Here is the line up. Operas from the last 2 or 3 seasons. It will be wonderful to see some of these again.

Madama Butterfly

June 15, 2011, 6:30 pm

Don Pasquale

June 22, 2011, 6:30 pm

Simon Boccanegra

June 29, 2011, 6:30 pm

La Fille du Régiment

July 13, 2011, 6:30 pm

Tosca

July 20, 2011, 6:30 pm

Don Carlo

July 27, 2011, 6:30 pm

Today I saw the HD live broadcast of Die Walkure. I'm an opera newbie, having seen my 1st opera last Dec., and this was my 1st Wagner opera. It was awesome. The movie theatre (AMC on 42nd St.) was packed.

I just want say that I'm in my 50's and am delighted to have come to another art form to enrich my life.

vipa, you better be careful -- this opera stuff is addictive!

I'm glad you had such a great time. Except for the first major technical difficulty I've experienced at one of these -- we missed about five minutes of Act III, including Sieglinde's beautiful lines before she runs off into the forest -- I loved Die Walkure, and I think The Machine is brilliant.

I too saw Die W today. I loved the signers (my God Siegmund was awesome), and the orchestra, but I predict this production will not last. I was very disappointed in Le Page's concept of this opera. I rather liked what he did with Das Rheingold, but not this time. I will remain hopeful for the next 2 operas, but my gut tells me the use of the "machine" as the foundation of the spectacle was a mistake.

We had to cancel at the last minute, so I missed the HD/Live performance and therefore the 45-minute delay before the curtain rose. I've seen almost all the HD/Live performances and don't recall such a problem in the past.