This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

This is definitely something of a rant, and something that irritates me to no end. I find it hard to believe that Bill T Jones's work is still considered "victim art," and yet, from the recent DanceView Times I see

I’m not an expert on Jones’s “victim art,” but I have noticed that it is popular among upper-middle-class white audiences.

I agree that his popularity with upper-middle-class white audiences is problematic, but I want to address the first part of the statement. Especially since every time I have seen this term used, the writer distances him or herself as much as possible with familiarity with the work itself, totally evading justification of the statement! The above is a great example, and a better one if Croce's infamous review of Still/Here-- a performance she did not even attend. I enjoy Croce almost as much as most people who frequent these boards, but a critic cannot be descriptive, interpretive, or evaluative without seeing the work, period.

As far as I can tell (I am sure someone can correct me if I am wrong), she gave Jones the "victim art" label, and I must reiterate that it perplexes me. To me, the term implies that the artist is glorifying victim status, and most importantly, demanding pity from the audience. I have only seen three live Bill T Jones performances, and all in the past year, but I can attest from these experiences that "victim art" is a terrible description of his work. I found the brief statement in the NYTimes to be much more descriptive:

As usual, Mr. Jones reaches, or overreaches, trying to say something about almost everything; he even inserted a lament about torture. As usual, there is such virtuosity and poetry and flair on hand that he achieves an awful lot.