Jump to content
This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

2016 Benois de la Danse Nominations

Recommended Posts

Here are the 2016 Benois de la Danse nominees. The awards will be presented at the Bolshoi Theatre next month.


  • Mauro Bigonzetti - "Cinderella," (Sergei Prokofiev), La Scala Ballet
  • Alexander Ekman - "A Midsummer Night's Dream," (Mikael Karlsson), Royal Swedish Ballet.
  • Johan Inger - "Carmen," (George Bizet/Rodion Schedrin), Compania Nacional de Danza; "One on One," (Franz Shubert), Netherlands Dans Theatre.
  • Benjamin Millepied - "Clear, Loud, Bright, Forward," (Nico Muhli), Paris Opera Ballet.
  • Justin Peck - "Rodeo: Four Dance Episodes," (Aaron Copeland), New York City Ballet.
  • Maxim Petrov - "Divertissement of the King," (Jean-Phillipe Rameau), Mariinsky Ballet.
  • Yuri Possukhov - "Hero of Our Time," (Ilya Demutsky), Bolshoi Ballet.
  • Zhang Yunfeng - "Emperor Yu Li," (Eleni Karaindrou, Wei Dou, Baoshuo Tan, Suola Liu), Beijing Dance Academy.


  • Alicia Amatriain - Blance DuBois, "A Streetcar named Desire," (S. Prokofiev, A. Schnittke), J. Neumeier,"The Devil," "The Soldier's Tale," (I. Stravinsky), D. Volpi, Stuttgart Ballet.
  • Rebecca Bianchi - title role "Giselle," (A. Adam), P. Rouanne, Rome Opera Ballet.
  • Sara Mearns - Leading part, "Rodeo: Four Dance Episodes," (Aaron Copeland), New York City Ballet.
  • Hannah O'Neill - title role, "Paquita," (E. Deldevez, L. Minkus), Pierre Lacotte, Paris Opera Ballet
  • Oxana Skorik - title role "Sylvia," (L. Delibes), Sir Frederick Ashton, Mariinsky Ballet.
  • Gina Tse - Odette/Odile, "Swan Lake," (P. Tchaikovsky), M. Ek, Royal Swedish Ballet.


  • Joshua Hoffalt - Prince Siegfried, "Swan Lake," (P. Tchaikovsky), R. Nureyev vesion; "Theme & Variations," (P. Tchaikovsky), George Balanchine; Lucien d'Herville, "Paquita," (E. Deldevez, L. Minkus), Pierre Lacotte, Paris Opera Ballet.
  • Kim Kimin - Solor, "La Bayadere," (L. Minkus), R. Nureyev's version, Paris Opera Ballet.
  • Hugo Marchand - Solor, "La Bayadere," (L. Minkus), R. Nureyev's version, Paris Opera Ballet.
  • Amar Ramazar - "Rodeo: Four Dance Episodes," (Aaron Copeland), New York City Ballet.
  • Alessandro Riga - Frederi L'Arlesienne, (G. Bizet), Roland Petit, Festival dei Due Mondi, Spoleto.
  • Dmitri Zagrebin - Basil, "Don Quixote," (L. Minkus), R. Nureyev's version, Royal Swedish Ballet.


  • Jean-Marc Puissant - "Concerto Concordia," costumes, (F. Poulenc), choreographer, C. Wheeldon, Dutch National Ballet; "Other Stories," set and costumes for W. Whelan, E. Watson's recital at Linbury Studio, Royal Opera House, London.
  • Ren Dongsheng - "Emperor Yu Li," set and costumes, Eleni Karaindrou, Wei Dou, Baoshuro Tan, Suola Liu, Zhang Yungfeng, Beijing Dance Academy.
Link to comment

Programs for the two galas associated with the 2016 Benois de la Danse festivities have been posted on the Bolshoi site. The Nominee's Gala Concert on May 17 featuring performances by nominees, or of the work of nominees, can be found here: http://www.bolshoi.ru/upload/medialibrary/bac/bac78edc116d78cc308c2d519d242540.pdf On the following evening the "Different Years Laureates Gala Concert" will feature performances by/of laureates from previous years. The program's theme is "Shakespeare (sic) in Ballet" and will include choreographic numbers and fragments from the ballets by Frederick Ashton, Maurice Béjart, John Neumeier, Jean-Christophe Maillot, Mats Ek, Vladimir Vasiliev, Angelin Preljocaj and others. http://www.bolshoi.ru/upload/medialibrary/e5f/e5f8d90a1d800f63ca8dbcfce91a2194.pdf.

Link to comment
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...