This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Inquiry about use of white tights + common colors of tights in ballet classes

Hi! I've been involved in ballet for close to 5 years now, and one thing I've always wondered about recently was the matter of the usage of specific colors of ballet tights.

I am a male ballet student and dancer, and in my first two years of ballet classes and lessons, I wore long black pants with matching socks and ballet or jazz shoes - this carried over to many of my past performances as well. As I got older, I became fascinated with wearing tights and now I have several pairs of ballet tights in a few different colors - though I mainly wore blue with white socks and black shoes in recent performances. In my current ballet classes I tend to alternate between a black pair and a blue pair of footless tights/leggings (each color is a separate pair, fyi) with white socks and black ballet shoes. At home however, I tend to experiment with different ballet get-ups. The other tights I wear include:

- A black convertible pair with black shoes.

- A white footed pair (no hole on the bottom) plus one of two extra white convertible kinds with white shoes (which I haven't worn for performances so far).

- A grey convertible pair that I haven't worn as many times, with black shoes sometimes (I don't have grey shoes).