This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Performance of Sleeping Beauty at Kennedy Center

I attended the Saturday Matinee performance of Sleeping Beauty.  It was truly a delight.  The house was full,  the dancers were all wonderful and the audience was appreciative and enthusiastic, with good reason.   Princess Aurora was danced splendidly by Katherine Barkman and Prince Desire' was danced spectacularly by Rolando Sarabia. 

Katherine was warm, engaging, smooth and buoyant.  She clearly appreciated every other dancer she came in contact with.  She also charmed them all.    She is Charismatic, and a lovely, lovely dancer.  

Rolando was full on dance master in this performance.  I'm not a dance expert so I struggle a bit to articulate what it is about him that's so special.  He leaps, bounds, spins and then lands full stop in such a way that it seems as if he hadn't been moving at all.  And then, he beams because he knows he nailed it, again.  I think his partnership with Katherine Barkman is a really good one.   They made everybody happy, and they seemed pretty darned happy themselves.

Kateryna Derechyna danced a lovely Lilac.  Victoria Arrera, an apprentice, danced Princess Florine.  It's a good way to begin.  Our Bluebird was danced by Masanori Takiguchi; he is still in the Studio Company.  I thought he did a great job. He's a big jumper.   The white Cat and Puss-in-Boots were danced adorably by Brittany Stone and Corey Landolt.   And, let me not forget to mention Daniel Roberge who played a really cool Carabosse.   I don't know how else to describe  his characterization.  He was over the top, but not way over.   He was menacing, and he made me giggle.