This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

I attended last night's performance of the Ashley Bouder Project at the Joyce. This is my first time seeing this group. I had mixed feelings. First, it was great to see the dancers in such an intimate setting. I always love Taylor Stanley, but I got to pay more attention to the flexible, fluid India Bradley, who danced with authority. Also Roman Mejia, who really seems to have it all. As for the pieces, I found Alas fascinating, and would welcome seeing this piece again. There were some elements I didn't care for (such as dancers abruptly running offstage as a form of exit), but it was an enticing, engaging hybrid (of what, exactly, I can't quite say). I am glad to learn the name of this choreographer, Abdul Latif. I thought Lauren Lovette's new piece for Bouder was unremarkable and banal, and I was baffled by what Bouder's own new piece was trying to say. (Don't have the program handy, and can't quite remember the titles of these pieces.) Then there was the piece for two men (originally for two women, I think?), which left me cold. I didn't see how it made any difference to have two men versus two women dance it, since as far as I could tell this piece was not about the relationship between the two dancers, and I could not tell what it was about. 

Would enjoy hearing other comments from those who were there. 

This was the fourth program of the 2018 Ballet Festival at the Joyce Theater.