Jump to content
This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

NYCB's Lauren Lovette named recipient of the 2012 Clive Barnes Awa

Recommended Posts


Hosted by Michael Riedel, the third annual Clive Barnes Awards took place today at The Walter Reade Theatre, Lincoln Center. The Clive Barnes Awards is a distinguished annual honor recognizing the work of young actors and dancers in New York City. Announced as the 2012 winners were Chaplin's Rob McClure for theatre and New York City Ballet's Lauren Lovette for dance.

Rob McClure is currently starring in the title role of Chaplin in performances now at the Barrymore Theatre. He originated the role at La Jolla Playhouse (Craig Noel Award Winner). He made his Broadway debut in the 2002 revival of I'm Not Rappaport. A two-time Barrymore Award winner, Rob starred on Broadway as Princeton/Rod in Avenue Q and most recently starred in Where's Charley? at Encores.

Lauren Lovette was born in Thousand Oaks, California and began studying ballet at the age of 11 at the Cary Ballet Conservatory in Cary, North Carolina. She attended summer courses at the School of American Ballet, the official school of New York City Ballet, during the summers of 2004 and 2005 and enrolled at SAB as a full time student in 2006. In October 2009, Ms. Lovette became an apprentice with NYCB and joined the Company as a member of the corps de ballet in September 2010.

Also nominated for theatre were Joaquina Kalukango for her performance in Signature Theatre Company's production of Katori Hall's Hurt Village, Derek Klena for his performance in Second Stage Theatre's production of Dogfight, directed by Joe Mantello and Stephen Tyrone Williams for his performance in Signature Theatre Company's production of Athol Fugard's My Children, My Africa. Others nominated for dance were Steven Melendez (New York Theater Ballet), and Ashley Murphy (Dance Theater of Harlem).

The Clive Barnes Foundation was formed in 2009 by Valerie Taylor Barnes, former soloist with The Royal Ballet, to create Annual Awards giving recognition, encouragement, and financial support to two talented young professionals and thus, honoring the memory of the immense body of critical work and warm personal generosity of Clive Barnes. Throughout his professional life, Clive Barnes was caring and generous to his colleagues and friends; always ready to advise and listen. After his death, many condolence letters spoke of his generosity and practical help, especially to young people. The Awards will be given at the end of each year, judged by a panel of experts in each field. Presenters have included Frederic Franklin, Cherry Jones, and Nina Arianda (2010 Clive Barnes Award winner, 2012 Tony Award Winne for Venus in Fur) and previous winners are Chase Finlay (2010, New York City Ballet),Nina Arianda (2010, Venus in Fur), Mj Rodriquez (2011, RENT), and Isabella Boylston (2011, American Ballet Theater).

The Selection Committee for the Clive Barnes Award includes Edward Albee, Alexandra Ansanelli, Gwin Joh Chin, Barbara Hoffman, Jacques le Sourd, Arthur Mitchell, Patrick Pacheco, Valerie Taylor-Barnes, Damian Woetzel and Craig Wright.

Serving on the Clive Barnes Foundation Boad of Directors is Valerie Taylor Barnes, Brenda Anderson

William H. Ausman, Gwin Joh Chin, Jennifer Dunning, Jacques le Sourd, Michael Reidel, Spring Sirkin, Damien Woetzel and Craig Wright.

Link to comment
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...