This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Baryshnikov- changes in physique

silvy

I have come across a videotape called "World's Youth Ballet", which features Misha when he won the gold medal at Moscow Ballet Competition (I understand he was still a student at the Vaganova School at that time). I was very surprised to see how bulky his thighs were and his overall physique, in comparison with films of him of his later years, when he had already defected. Anyone knows how he managed to change his looks so much? In his later years he looks much more elongated. Was it the teachers, the change of training, or something else?

By the way, the tape I mentioned is worth seeing for the galaxy of future stars that were competing there at that time.

Silvy

Hey, Silvy, That's a great question -- Many of us have noticed htis over the years, I'm sure. I'm no expert on this, but others may be able to correct my errors and fill in some --

Of c ourse, one thing, simple as it sounds, is he's gotten older. He hadn't lost all his baby-fat in hte video you're talking about.

But seriously, Soloviev, who was the other great dancer of his day, in a sense his great rival, had even bigger thighs -- with fantastic elevatoin and power in reserve that he rarely used all of. That heroic Russian style required tremendous elevation, and of course that requires a GREAT deal of thigh and glute strength.

When Baryshnikov came here he did not have THAT kind of competition -- big thighs were less attractive here -- and the way Americans danced involved a lot more finesse. Well, some Americans -- but if you look at Helgi TOmasson on hte competition in Moscow tape -- he won the silver the year Baryshnikov won he gold -- Tomasson's finesse was really remarkable, and involved a lot of quick changes of speed and of direction, and development and co-ordination of the smaller muscles.