This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Odysseen

I've just returned from the epic, which truly was an epic--as the first act lasted an hour and forty minutes (I should have packed a lunch)

Being a Neumeier newbie, I was hoping that someone could give me a bit about his 'schtick'. I have heard wonders about R & J some years back with Heidi Ryom.

Thanks.

Neumeier is an American choreographer who's made his career in Europe -- and who's been more popular there than here. (His works aren't very well known in the U.S. he's created an entire repertory for the Hamburg Ballet.) He's more known for his way with drama than his choreography, and is also considered a very fine director: good coach, gets at detail. His "Romeo and Juliet" was one of the mainstays of the RDB repertory for nearly 20 years. Kronstam directed it -- in the same way that a director directs a play, not merely overseeing it or teaching the steps, but coaching the roles, and it was the ballet, along with La Sylphide, that the dancers I interviewed for the Kronstam biography mentioned over and over as being meaningful to them. They remembered having small parts in it as children, they remembered watching the rehearsals -- he'd do all the parts, not to show off, but to show.