This site uses cookies. By using this site, you agree to accept cookies, unless you've opted out. (US government web page with instructions to opt out: http://www.usa.gov/optout-instructions.shtml)

Ranking of Intl Ballet Festivals

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Penseur_*

Guest_Penseur_*
  • Unregistered / Not Logged In

Posted 29 May 2001 - 10:01 AM

I am a free-lance writer based in the USA, and need some research help:

Is there an 'authoritative' source (i.e., an organization or publication) that reviews and ranks ballet festivals and/or companies around the world?

Also, I am interested in general information about ballet companies, halls and festivals in Russia and eastern Europe.

The Mariinsky International Ballet Festival (usually February-March) in St. Petersburg, Russia is of special interest.

Thanks very much!

#2 Alexandra

Alexandra

Board Founder

• Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,271 posts

Posted 29 May 2001 - 11:42 AM

Sorry, I don't know of any authoritative source that ranks companies around the world, in the sense of publishing a list of companies ranked in order of..... budget? artistic achievement that year? etc.

There are lists of festivals in various places. I believe Dance Magazine publishes a list of them. But they're strictly informational. Rankings are usually done by people who have seen all of them and make a personal assessment, but I know of no World Dance Organization that takes this on as an institutional task.

#3 Guest_Penseur_*

Guest_Penseur_*
  • Unregistered / Not Logged In

Posted 30 May 2001 - 12:07 AM

Alexandria, thanks for your quick reply. What criteria are used to rank the festivals or companies is open to wide interpretation. Example, the Indy 500 car race is widely considered to be the world's 'greatest' car race, and that could be tied to any one or combination of factors: speed of the cars, dollar amount of prize monies, number of fans attending, etc.