Jump to content

This site uses cookies. By using this site, you agree to accept cookies, unless you've opted out. (US government web page with instructions to opt out: http://www.usa.gov/optout-instructions.shtml)

Stephanie Jordan wins de la Torre Bueno Award

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Alexandra


    Board Founder

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,301 posts

Posted 29 October 2001 - 01:11 PM


Professor Stephanie Jordan, author of the Dance Books publication, has received a special
citation in the prestigious de la Torre Bueno Prize for 2001 for her book 'Moving Music -
dialogues with music in twentieth-century ballet', published by Dance Books.

The de la Torre Bueno prize is awarded annually for the most distinguished original book
of dance scholarship in English published during the previous calendar year, as determined
by a jury of experts in the field. This year's jury included James Neufeld, Gus Solomons
Jr., Allan Ulrich, Selma Jeanne Cohen, and Mary Ann Malkin.

The citation reads:

'Illuminating the origins of twentieth-century musical practice as it relates to dance,
Stephanie Jordan examines the work of the pedagogue Emile Jaques-Dalcroze, a host of early
modern dance pioneers, and the linking of major modern composers with the choreographers
of the Diaghilev Ballets Russes. Where most dance scholars merely cite the musicality of
the great choreographers, the author has instead analyzed the specific musical approaches
of George Balanchine, Frederick Ashton, and Antony Tudor, in particular, and
twentieth-century choreographers in general. Jordan has executed her task with close and
highly informed readings of the steps and scores that will stand as a model for future
inquires into their relationships.'

Professor Jordan is the 9th author to win an award from the de la Torre Bueno prize for a
book published by Dance Books. Previous Dance Books publications' authors are:

Jack Anderson: The One and Only: The Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo
Alexandra Danilova: Choura
Knud Arne Jurgensen: The Bournonville Tradition (Lillian Moore Award)
Valerie Preston-Dunlop: Rudolf Laban: an extraordinary life
Richard Ralph: The Life and Works of John Weaver
Suki Schorer: Suki Schorer on Balanchine Technique
Elizabeth Souritz: Soviet Choreographers in the 1920s
David Vaughan: Frederick Ashton and his Ballets

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Help support Ballet Alert! and Ballet Talk for Dancers year round by using this search box for your amazon.com purchases. (If it doesn't appear below, your computer's or browser's adblockers may have blocked display):