This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Marie Sallé

I’m interested in women who are in decision making positions in ballet, which is why I read Bronislava Nijinska’s Early Memoirs and posted about it.  Recently I have been researching Marie Sallé and having found information I decided to write this post.  However, in regard to the history of ballet I am an amateur, so I don’t claim that I know more about this subject than others on this website.  Actually I am hoping that others would be able to add to this post so I can learn more.  I seem to remember that there is a thread on “women in ballet,” but I can’t find it now. I also searched for information on Marie Sallé, but did not find anything. If someone could help me locate that information I would appreciate it.  

Born in 1707 Marie Sallé is described as the first woman to choreograph a ballet in which she danced.  She choreographed the ballet “Pygmalion” in which she danced the role of Galatea.  This work premiered at Covent Gardens in London on February 4, 1734.  The following is a contemporary description of the action of the ballet:

“‘Pygmalion enters his studio accompanied by his sculptors, who execute a characteristic dance, mallet and chisel in hand. Pygmalion bids them throw open the back of the studio which, like the forepart, is adorned with statues. One in the middle stands out above all the others and attracts the admiration of everyone. Pygmalion examines it, considers it, and sighs. He puts his hands on the feet, then on the body; he examines all the contours, likewise the arms, which he adorns with precious bracelets. He places a rich necklace around the neck and kisses the hands of his beloved statue. At last he becomes enraptured with it; he displays signs of unrest and falls into a reverie, then prays to Venus and beseeches her to endow the marble with life.