This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Swan Lake 02/20

I don't know how long before I re visit ABT's Swan Lake. The current array of female Principals don't attract me enough to jump on a plane as I have been doing for many years now.

But there's NYCB, a company I see here and there. Last time I traveled to see them was for their Coppelia, and was very pleased. So I have decided to try their SL, and see the great City ballerinas on it.  I have tickets for all performances from 02/14 to 02/20, including the weekend double take. I want to see my favorite NYCB ballerina, Ashley Bouder's Odile!♥️

What am I to expect, production wise....? 

28 minutes ago, cubanmiamiboy said:

The biggest downside of this production for me is that the set and costumes are very ugly, garish even. It has an Act I jester unlike many American productions. You can expect the music to be played very fast throughout. I find there's much more emphasis on the dancing (fast) rather than drama or characterization. Martins adds his own take on the ending of the ballet, but otherwise the choreography is pretty traditional if I remember correctly. There's still quite a bit to enjoy in the ballet, if you can get over the scenery and costumes. 

Edited by fondoffouettes
57 minutes ago, fondoffouettes said:

The biggest downside of this production for me is that the set and costumes are very ugly, garish even. It has an Act I jester unlike many American productions. You can expect the music to be played very fast throughout. I find there's much more emphasis on the dancing (fast) rather than drama or characterization. Martins adds his own take on the ending of the ballet, but otherwise the choreography is pretty traditional if I remember correctly. There's still quite a bit to enjoy in the ballet, if you can get over the scenery and costumes. 

1 hour ago, cubanmiamiboy said: