This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

What is "Musicality" in a Dancer?

First, apologies for such a long post (my first in Ballet Alert!). The nature of my question calls for detailed evidence, rather than opinion.

I wonder if folks on the forum can help me understand ballet better by telling me whether my thoughts on this topic are sound. I’m a musician, yet a novice in serious thought about ballet — though I have known the ballet music of, for example, Tchaikovsky, Delibes, Prokovief and Stravinsky for decades.

One of the things that I have found most interesting —and sometimes most frustrating — about online discussions of ballet are fights over a dancer’s “musicality” or lack of it. Too often, praise or insult comes without defining what the terms mean.

———————————

So about a year ago I looked up some dancers about whom the term “musical” has often been used. Among younger dancers, the most interesting to me has been Yulia Stepanova.

On Ballet Alert! she has a huge number of replies under her name in the “Dancers” section — FAR larger than that of any dancer except Misty Copeland (Stepanova 476 as of 28 September 2018.  Copeland 781 — but that’s no surprise). Although not all these replies relate directly to Stepanova, it is clear that she raises strong opinions, and “musical” or “unmusical” are pretty frequent references.

So, wondering what folks mean by musicality in a ballet dancer, I started watching everything by Yulia Stepanova I could lay my hands on. (There’s a lot of it, especially on YouTube.) And I followed this up by watching other dancers who have been widely praised as “musical.”

In no particular order, here’s a selection:

1) Yulia Stepanova (Swan Lake Act 3, with Jacopo Tissi)  (Spartacus Act 3, with Alexander Sergeyev

2) Rudolf Nureyev (Swan Lake Act 4, with Margo Fonteyn in 1966)   (Swan Lake Act 3)

3) Cynthia Gregory  (Rose Adagio)