Jump to content
This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Dance Magazine Awards: Monday, 9 December 7:30pm

Recommended Posts

2013 Dance Magazine awards recipients were announced today:

  • Yuan Yuan Tan, to be presented by Christopher Wheeldon
  • Martha Clarke, to be presented by Charles Reinhardt
  • Mats Ek, to be presented by Jorma Elo
  • Patricia Wilde, to be presented by Robert Barnett
  • Philip Glass, to be presented by Damian Woetzel

The presentation will be held at the Ailey Citigroup Theater (405 West 55th Street, NYC) at 7:30pm on Monday, 9 December. (Doors open at 7, with a reception to follow in the Ailey Studios.)

Performing will be: Ashley Bouder, in an excerpt from "Square Dance" to honor Wilde. A selection from Martha Clarke's "Cheri" will be danced by Alessandra Ferri and Herman Cornejo.

Link to comment

Check out the link above to the press release -- it's got a list of former winners. Such a pleasure to think about them!

The order of selection was interesting to me too - in 1957 we see Lucia Chase and Jerome Robbins selected, the next year Gene Kelly, the next year Astaire and Balanchine. I assume these selections had as much to do with popularity in a particular year as lifetime achievements. The very first year of the awards was all about dance on TV (so it had a different purpose in the beginning).

Link to comment
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...