Jump to content
This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Dance Magazine Names Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

Recommended Posts

From the New York Times:

September 18, 2012, 5:23 pm

Dance Magazine Names Lifetime Achievement Award Winners


Dance Magazine has named the winners of its annual lifetime achievement awards. They are Julie Kent, a principal dancer at American Ballet Theater; Renee Robinson, a member of the Alvin Ailey company since 1981; the tap dancer Dianne Walker; and the former New York Times dance critic Anna Kisselgoff. The honors will be bestowed on Dec. 3 at the Ailey Citigroup Theater.


Congratulations to all!

I've been wondering if we'll soon be upon Julie Kent's retirement from ABT. Is this award a sign that the 2012-2013 season will be her last? She's always been one of my favorites - so lovely and such clean technique.

Renee Robinson is retiring at the end of this year from Alvin Ailey.

I'm not familiar with Dianne Walker.

Definitely miss Anna Kisselgoff's critiques!

Link to comment

I was wondering when Renee Robinson would retire. I didn't see much (or any?) of her last season. I had thought that she might have been a candidate to take over the Ailey company after Jamison retired, but obviously that did not occur.

I too miss Kisselgoff's reviews.

Yes, there is definitely a big question mark as to when Kent will retire. She still seems to be going full steam ahead, and has given very strong performances in well-selected vehicles like Onegin.

Link to comment
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...