Jump to content
This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Margaret Mullin and Olivier Wevers Win Princess Grace Award

Recommended Posts

Margaret Mullin just won a Princess Grace dance fellowship, after having been nominated by Peter Boal, described in a recent "Dance Magazine" article by Rosie Gaynor, and Olivier Wevers, whose early choreography was seen on the mainstage as part of the PNB choreography workshop received a Choreography Fellowship, after having been nominated by Donald Byrd of Spectrum Dance Theater.

Here is the press release:


Pacific Northwest Ballet was thrilled to learn today that corps de ballet dancer Margaret Mullin has been chosen as a recipient of the prestigious Princess Grace Award. Presented by the Princess Grace Foundation-USA, the Awards help emerging artists pursue their artistic goals in theater, film, dance and choreography.

Margaret Mullin is from Tucson, Arizona. She studied on scholarship at Ballet Arts Tucson and at Pacific Northwest Ballet School, and attended summer courses at Ballet Tucson, Pacific Northwest Ballet School, and Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp. She was the recipient of a Thurber Scholarship Award in 2003 and 2004, and the 2007 Founding Director Scholarship Award from Angela Whitehill of Burklyn Ballet. Ms. Mullin joined Pacific Northwest Ballet as an apprentice in 2008 and was promoted to corps de ballet in 2009. A recent profile of Ms. Mullin by Rosie Gaynor in the August, 2011 issue of Dance Magazine noted “her strong stage presence, musicality, clean lines, and ability to fly across the stage.”

“We collectively congratulate Margaret Mullin on being awarded a Princess Grace Award,” said PNB artistic director Peter Boal. “Maggie is an artist of tremendous potential and versatility. Her talent along with a strong work ethic and an engaging stage presence are all part of this well-deserved honor.”

Past recipients of the Princess Grace Award from Pacific Northwest Ballet and Pacific Northwest Ballet School include current PNB dancers Benjamin Griffiths (Boston Ballet, 2003), Andrew Bartee (PNB School, 2007), and Lucien Postlewaite (PNB, 2008); former PNB dancers Miranda Weese (New York City Ballet, 1995), Seth Belliston (PNB, 1996), Stanko Milov (Pittsburgh Ballet Theater, 1997), and Le Yin (Houston Ballet, 1998); and former PNB School students Drew Jacoby (LINES, 2005) and Meredith Webster (LINES, 2007).

Former PNB principal Olivier Wevers was another of this year’s Princess Grace Award-winners, receiving a choreography fellowship through Spectrum Dance Theater. “I am so pleased to learn of Olivier’s award,” continued Mr. Boal. “Watching Olivier develop and grow as a choreographer over the past decade has been rewarding for all of us at PNB. We congratulate him on the distinguished honor and look forward to his bright future as a choreographer.”

PNB also congratulates Seattle-based choreographer Zoe Scofield, who received this year’s other choreography fellowship from the Princess Grace Foundation-USA.

Link to comment
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...