Jump to content
This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Isadora Duncan Awards--Nominee and Ceremony Info, Yerba Buena Center f

Recommended Posts


San Francisco, California, December 30, 2010 - - The Isadora Duncan Dance Awards Committee today announced the 2009-2010 performance season award nominees. The winners will be honored in an awards ceremony to be held on Monday, March 14, 2011 at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts Forum. The following is a list of Nominees and Honorees by category.

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography

  • Wan-Chao Chang, Eurasia, Wan-Chao Dance, Ethnic Dance Festival, Weekend 4
  • Hsiang-Hsiu Lin, Mix & Match 2010, Lin HH Dance Theatre
  • Sara Shelton Mann, Tribes/Dominion, Sara Shelton Mann Dancers
  • Yuri Possokhov, Classical Symphony, San Francisco Ballet
  • Amy Seiwert, White Noise, Im'ij-re

Outstanding Achievement in Performance - Individual

  • Jenna McClintock, Coppelia, Diablo Ballet
  • Pascal Molat, for his entire year of performances, including the San Francisco Ballet and The Tosca Project, American Conservatory Theater
  • Luisa Lopez Saavedra, La Marinera Norteña, El Tunante
  • Nol Simonse, for his entire year of performances, including The Tosca Project, American Conservatory Theater
  • Sofiane Sylve, in the middle, somewhat elevated, San Francisco Ballet
  • Yuan Yuan Tan, The Little Mermaid, San Francisco Ballet

Outstanding Achievement in Performance - Ensemble

  • Stephanie Bastos, Daniel Brevi, Guy De Chalus, Zkiya Harris, Eyla Moore, Veleda Roehl, Amara Tabor Smith, Adia Tamar Whitaker, and Sonia Whittle, Ampey!, a work-in-progress, 2009 CounterPULSE Performing Diaspora Festival
  • Jaime Garcia Castilla, Daniel Deivison-Oliviera, Victor Luiz, Gennadi Nedvigin, James Sofranko, and Hansuke Yamamoto, Classical Symphony, San Francisco Ballet
  • Heather Cooper and Brian Fisher, Another Time, Mark Foehringer Dance Project
  • Chad Dawson and Nol Simonse, Two Rooms, Stephen Pelton Dance Company
  • Andrea Faraci and Iveta Pauryte, a season of International Standard Ballroom Dancing
  • Private Freeman and Yukie Fujimoto, "Lettre Dos" from Je Me Souviens, Sonya Delwaide at ODC

Outstanding Achievement in Performance - Company

  • American Conservatory Theater and various guest artists, The Tosca Project, American Conservatory Theater
  • Eszterl nc Hungarian Folk Ensemble, Traditional Dance Cycle from the Village of Magyarszov t, Ethnic Dance Festival, Weekend 3
  • Janice Garrett & Charles Moulton, The Illustrated Book of Invisible Stories, Yerba Buena Center for the Arts Forum
  • Hui Tama Nui, Pepe Hau, Ethnic Dance Festival, Weekend 3
  • Natyalaya, Parvathi, the Divine, Ethnic Dance Festival, Weekend 2
  • Scott Wells & Dancers, Ball-ist-ic, CounterPULSE

Outstanding Achievement in Visual Design

  • Matthew Antaky, lighting design; Christine Darch, costume design; and Frieder Weiss, video design, White Noise, Im'ij-re
  • Patty-Ann Farrell, lighting design and Aaron Sencil, costume and prop design, Pepe Hau, Hui Tama Nui
  • David Finn and Yuri Zhukov, visual design, Classical Symphony, San Francisco Ballet
  • Mary Louise Geiger, lighting design; Laura Jellinek, scenic design; and Mark Zappone, costume design, Ghosts, San Francisco Ballet
  • Krissy Keefer, costume design, The Great Liberation, Dance Brigade
  • Larry Reed, visual design and ZeJie Zheng, calligraphy design, Good-for-Nothing-Lover, ShadowLight Productions

Outstanding Achievement in Music / Sound / Text

  • Abhinaya Dance Company and San Jose Taiko, music, Synergy, Abhinaya Dance Company and San Jose Taiko
  • The Cultural Heritage Choir and Fua Dia Congo drummers, music, Nzobi, Fua Dia Congo
  • Hope Mohr and Brenda Hillman, text, Far from Perfect, Hope Mohr Dance
  • Stellamara, musical adaption of Strumica/Azade, Eurasia, Wan Chao Dance
  • Kip Winger, music, Ghosts, San Francisco Ballet

[*]Outstanding Achievement in Restaging / Revival / Reconstruction

  • Roslyn Anderson, Petite Mort, Smuin Ballet
  • Sonya Delwaide, "Lettre Dos" from Je Me Souviens, Sonya Delwaide at ODC
  • Isabelle Fokine, Petrouchka, San Francisco Ballet
  • Mythili Kumar and Rasika Kumar, Varsha; The Rainy Season, Abhinaya Dance Company
  • Donald Mahler, Continuo, Ballet San Jose

Special Award Honorees

  • Brenda Way and ODC
    For her vision, commitment, and perseverance to build a major dance center with a broad range of programs and resources for dance professionals, children, and the community.
  • YAK FILMS/Yoram Savion, Director
    For documenting the turf dancing by Oakland youth, particularly those videos that feature the RIP dances recorded at the locations in the Bay Area where other youth have died, and for making them available on YouTube.

Sustained Achievement Honorees

  • Denise Jourdaine, Stephan Kraeul, and Rex Lewis, co-owners of Imperial Ballroom
    For their years of instruction and operation of the Imperial Ballroom in Redwood City, their training of professional ballroom competitors, and their continued management of internationally recognized ballroom competitions.
  • Mythili Kumar, Founder and Director of Abhinaya Dance Company
    For three decades of teaching, directing, and creation in South Indian classical dance forms of Bharata Natyam and Kuchipudi, and for providing Bay Area dance audiences with an understanding of the richness in these complex and historical dance forms.
  • Josefa Villanueva, Co-Founder and Artistic Director, Santa Clara Ballet
    For establishing and directing a dance repertory company with her late husband Benjamin Reyes for over 37 years. For offering instruction and training in classical ballet, for creating choreography for the company, and for providing performance opportunities for children and Bay Area professional dancers.

The Isadora Duncan Dance Awards, informally known as the Izzies, are awarded annually to acknowledge exceptional creative achievements in the performance and presentation of dance. Awards are given in nine categories to honor the dancers, choreographers, designers, composers, dance companies, scholars and other individuals who have made important contributions to the Bay Area's thriving dance community and to celebrate the excellence and diversity of dance in the greater San Francisco Bay Area.

The wholly volunteer Isadora Duncan Dance Awards Committee was established in 1984 and bestowed its first awards in 1985. The Committee is made up of artists, teachers, dance writers, academics and arts administrators with diverse areas of expertise and a willingness to commit to viewing a broad range of work.

During each 12-month performance cycle, running September 1-August 31, the Committee collectively views over four hundred eligible performances. The final nominees are selected at an annual voting meeting held in September after the close of the viewing cycle.

An awards ceremony will be held on Monday, March 14, 2011 at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts Forum, 701 Mission Street at 3rd in San Francisco, California. The event, which is free and open to the public, will begin with a greeting reception in the lobby at 6 pm, followed by the awards ceremony at 7 pm.

Member profiles and lists of previous nominees and winners are available online at www.izzies.org.

The Izzies Committee is supported by donations from individuals, groups, the Fleishhacker Foundation and The Zellerbach Family Fund.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...