This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

How Dance Translates to Everyday Life

Pls. forgive me if I am posting in an incorrect category.

I am really interested in the lives of ballet dancers outside of the training. I wonder about how their art pours over into their everyday life.

For example:

How and what are are some physical gestures and consciousness of body and space and relationship carry over into an average day and interaction.

ALso what sorts of things do they notice in other people through their postures/movements that they may not be so aware of if not for their art and training.

How do they express themselves physically towards other people when they arent dancing.

I am a visual artist and so I am very curious what an artist who relies on physicality is like.

Thanks.

Fascinating query, especially from your point of view as a visual artist.

In my experience with dancer-friends and as a dancer, I can say that dancers have a great consciousness of their physicality in everyday life, and that they are especially perceptive of the physicality of others. I remember reading a quote from some dancer who compared his/her body to a racehorse, and I remember understanding that feeling, in a good way. There is just a heightened awareness of what each muscle is doing, all the time. I also remember, as I stopped dancing, that the change in muscle awareness really felt like atrophy.

In my head, even today, having not taking a class in three years and not having performed in who knows how many, emotions are connected with dance movements. I have little flashes of releve and saut de chat. And the muscle memory is so strong that I can do them, on a whim, in my living room or whatever. I hope no one's looking in the window, though!