This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

A friend is desperate. She just got a great DVD via Amazon, but the seller failed to mention it was in PAL.

Anybody know any quick solutions? Will copy places convert copyrighted DVDs chapters intact? (This is of course in Berkeley, but we have the national chains)

I remember something about "Nero" allowing you to change the format from PAL to NTSC, but can't remember what that was or how it worked....

Thanks.

I am not an expert, but I have some experience with DVDs. There may be holes in what I'm saying, but maybe what I do know will be helpful.

Copying a commericial DVD can be done, but the legality of doing it is questionable (some say it is OK if you are making a backup for your own use; OTOH, *no* service would do it for you). Even making a backup copy is a bit complex requiring bootleg decryption software, and probably compression (shrink) software too. Even then a PAL to NTSC might not be do-able.

Essentially whatever you do, you will be "recoding" (also called "transcoding") the video/audio data into a new format. There are programs that can do this for non-protected files (or for files where the protection has been removed assuming that can be done legally).

One no-cost software program that can do such recoding of unprotected files is:

SUPER by eRightSoft

P.S. No matter what the circumstances, this is technically complex and not something the un-initiated is likely to feel comfortable doing.