This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Dance History Reading List

Hello, Ballet Talk members! It's been a while since I've been here, and it's nice to be back.

I've always been a dance history enthusiast, but as I'm largely self-taught, I'm embarking on a project to fill in the gaps and deepen my understanding. I'm reading about the development of Western dance, in depth, chronologically. And I'd appreciate your suggestions.

Right now, I'm in the very early stages-- I read Leonie Frida's bio of Catherine de Medici (which has very little to do dance, but painted a vivid picture of the era and politics that produced Ballet Comique de la Reine) and Mark Franco's Dance as Text: Ideologies of the Baroque Body (very dry and academic, but definitely clarified the development of ballet from Ballet Comique to Louix XIV). I'm looking for other texts to fill in the gaps of the pre-romantic era that gets little mention in the history books I've read. Your feedback and recommendations are welcome.

Here's my pre-Romantic list, in (roughly) the order I'm intending to read them:

Pre-Classic Dance Forms (Louis Horst)

Famed for Dance: Essays on the Theory and Practice of Theatrical Dancing in England, 1660-1740 (Ifan Kyrle Fletcher)

Art, Dance and the Body in French Culture of the Ancien Regime (Sarah R Cohen)

From the Royal to the Republican Body: Incorporating the Political in Seventeenth- and Eighteenth-Century France (Kathryn Norberg)

Letters on Dancing and Ballets (Noverre)

The Ballet of the Enlightenment: The Establishment of the Ballet D'Action in France (Ivor Guest)

The Code of Terpsichore: A Practical and Historical Treatise, on the Ballet, Dancing, and Pantomime: With a Complete Theory of the Art of Dancing (Carlo Blasis)

The Lure of Perfection : Fashion and Ballet, 1780-1830 (Judith Chazin-Bennahum)