This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Helene PMed me about recommending some Bollywood movies that I admire, as an Indian and would recommend to fellow foreigners (as an American born girl who doesn't understand a word of Hindi). That got me to thinking, I'm studying French right now, and I'm beginning Italian and will be starting Chinese over the summer (I love languages!). I never know which French movies are critically acclaimed in France, and likewise with other foreign movies in their home countries, since I only see a small selection when I watch the Oscars.

So, I figured, why not have everyone recommend a few foreign films that they admire--in all languages and about all cultures. Even if it's a film made in America or England, it's probably considered "foreign" to others, so this way, we'll have an exciting set of movies that have been recommended by people we trust :( Good, bad, mediocre, how the public liked it, what the critics said, any actors/directors you recommend? It'd be nice to have a centralized list, that way, when we select movies, we aren't spending forever trying to figure out it it's worth the money to go see/rent/buy.

I'll start!!

Bollywood: