This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Ballet partnerships that are LIKEABLE

Watching the Paris "Rubies," I found myself thinking: Dupont and Carbone are lovely and charming and dance elegantly. But I really missed Villella and McBride's totally different approach to the parts.

This led me to the thought that there are some partnerships that are truly likeable. This is not the same thing as "admirable," or ""technically brilliant,"" or even "two dancing as one." They don't have to be the best dancers. Something clicks, however. And is communicated to the audience. You care about them and want to hang out after the performance to here about how they felt about it.

I'm not good at dredging examples from my flickering memory, so I need some help.

Upbeat ballets: Patricia McBride and and Edward Villella.

Dramatic ballets: ?

Romantic ballets: ?

Classical ballets: ?

Are there any such partnerships that strike you as being highly "likeable"? What makes them that way?

Watching the Paris "Rubies," I found myself thinking: Dupont and Carbone are lovely and charming and dance elegantly. But I really missed Villella and McBride's totally different approach to the parts.

This led me to the thought that there are some partnerships that are truly likeable. This is not the same thing as "admirable," or ""technically brilliant,"" or even "two dancing as one." They don't have to be the best dancers. Something clicks, however. And is communicated to the audience. You care about them and want to hang out after the performance to here about how they felt about it.

I'm not good at dredging examples from my flickering memory, so I need some help.

Upbeat ballets: Patricia McBride and and Edward Villella.

Dramatic ballets: ?

Romantic ballets:

Classical ballets: ?

Are there any such partnerships that strike you as being highly "likeable"? What makes them that way?