This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Which one is your favourite pas de deux?

I'd like to get some opinions about pas de deux in general.I started loving them only when I started studying them at the ballet school.Before I thought they were boring and the man was just an unuseful "lifter" and stop.When I then began studying the pas de deux technique I suppose I discovered a whole new and amazing world.Now I love them and I think they are one of the topic moments in a ballet,on which to quote the ability,both technical and interpretative,of dancers.Now,in my opinion,the most moving and beautiful pas de deux is the "white swan pas de deux".It really gives me a vast range of emotions...and what about You?Do You like PDDs?which one is your favourite and which are the ones you really can't stand?

I'm waiting for your answers;-)

P.S. I didn't know where to post this so if You want to move it to a more appropriate forum It's no problem.

This is a perfect place for this topic, dancerboy. :)

I, too, love pdds, and agree that White Swan is perhaps the most eloquent.

My all-purpose favorite, however, is probably Balanchine's Tchaikovsky Pas de Deux. Another favorite -- while not a complete entree-adagio-variation-variation-coda pdd (then, neither is White Swan), is from Sleeping Beauty's Vision Scene.

Hmmm, I hope my taste is more eclectic than this post suggests! Okay, a favorite non-Tchaikovsky pas would be the slow movement from Symphony in Three Movements -- Stravinsky. I find the choreography so witty and original, even with dancers who may not be either.

The duet for Titania and Oberon in Sir Frederick Ashton's The Dream is my favourite.

Another close runner is the grand pas from Act 3 of Sleeping Beauty

OK - Top 5: The Dream

Act 3 grand pas from Sleeping Beauty

Tchaikovsky pdd

Don Quixote pdd (because it is so kitsch)

Two Pigeons (final duet) - absolutely heartbreaking