This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

"Nijinsky" in Hamburg, 3-27 and 3-29, 2007

All right, this post is super late, but schoolwork and other commitments took up so much of the last few months, and I have so many pages of notes that it’s hard to summarize. Please forgive me if my report is lacking as I am still pretty new to the world of ballet.

I won’t go into too much personal stuff here, but let me just explain a little about the trip. I saw the Hamburg Ballet perform Nijinsky in 2004, by chance, really, having seen only a few Nutcrackers as a child. I thought it was amazing, years passed, and a few months ago I decided to go on a trip to Germany to see it again.

I tried to learn as much about Nijinsky as I could before leaving (thanks go to volocanohunter, who helped me with this) so I could better understand the ballet. It was definitely helpful to watch videos of some of the Ballets Russes ballets, and I’ve learned so much from this forum since I became a member.

So – the ballet. The first act deals with Nijinsky’s rise to stardom and most of it is set to Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scheherazade. There’s a lot crammed into it—the first movement alone covers Les Sylphides, Le Spectre de la Rose, and Scheherazade. The ballets sort of leak into each other, with dancers from each of them mingling onstage. Different dancers play Nijinsky’s different roles, interacting with him and the other characters (Romola, Diaghilev, &c.).