This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Building strength

Guest 5thAveGirl

Guest 5thAveGirl

This is my first time posting so I hope I get this right :0

I won't be dancing(by that I mean taking classes) for about 1 month (I'm searching for a new dance studio) Anyway, I need some exercises to keep up the strength that I do have and also build up more muscle. Every night I do 25 releves each in 1st, 2nd, and 4th positions. And I do developpes (sp?) in the front, side, and back holding it for 10 seconds. I need more exercises!! So if anyone knows any good ones please tell me!!

Vivian smile.gif

Guest allegra

What you have so far is good... but why not do a WHOLE ballet barre? There are videos that can help you with this; David Howard videos, Finis Jhung videos, etc... You watch them and do the class at the same time. It keeps your exercises on track. If you don't want to invest in them, just challenge yourself to make up ballet barre combinations to do every day or every other day or when you get a chance, etc. Also there is a book "New York City Ballet Workout" which is VERY good with strength and ballet exercises to keep/get in shape and build strength. There are books and videos on Pilates which also does the same thing. Also crunches are good if done every night. Basically do what feels right, and pretend you are having your OWN class; be it ballet, modern, jazz or a stretch class. Hold a class, in your room or a room with space, for yourself.

merde, Allegra

[This message has been edited by allegra (edited July 23, 2000).]