This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

A question for and about women.

For every woman who became a professional dancer, a hundred missed the cut and thousands never mastered the pointe. There must be a million girls who took classes and then as adults never attended performances. While these numbers are just estimates, it does suggest a comment and a question.

Regular classes should include seeing professional companies perform in order to seed the next generation of balletgoers. And why don't more women attend ballet performances?

And why don't more women attend ballet performances?

We can't afford it.

My story is typical. I was a ballet student who went on to major and earn a degree in dance at college. Dance was life and I didn't think anything would change that. Going to the ballet every week was simply a part of life. My NYCB subscription was paid for by my parents.

Passion for ballet transferred to motherhood. I loved it so much I had 6 children. A ballet teacher's meager earnings didn't allow for any extras, so I never went to the theatre. For 2 decades I saw no more than 5 ballets.

The costs of raising a family still don't permit many ballet tickets. We make our choices. There's nothing I'd like better than to see every ballet performance humanly possible!

I echo Marga's reponse....

I danced professionally for only a brief time before having to "move on" due to injury. Now, at 25, I am married and have just bought a house. And although I teach 20 hours a week, any "extra" money is spoken for long before I even contemplate seeing the ballet.

I would love to be at the ballet each week, but it's simply not possible.