This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

NYC Ballet

carolm

At Covent Garden I was sitting next to an elderly man. During the intermission we began speaking about the ballet and ballet in general. He said that his memory went back a long time. I confided that 50 or so years ago I was a student at the NYC Ballet School and every now and then the class would be taken by Maria Tallchief or Nora Kaye. He replied: "You have made my day!"

Were they not both great dancers?

Carol

Yes, they were both very great and very famous -- the superstars in ballet at the time. Maria Tallchief was THE star of New York City Ballet and Nora Kaye the star of ABT. Each appeared briefly with the "other" company, Kaye spending 3 years with NYCB and Tallchief guesting with ABT, but they were the icons of the NYCB and ABT, respectively, during the heydays of their careers. Unfortunately, Nora Kaye died of cancer at the age of 67. Tallchief, 5 years her junior, is still teaching ballet.

Maria Tallchief has been hailed as the "First American Ballerina", seeing as she was truly AMERICAN(Native American, I forget which tribe and part Irish, I could be incorrect on that part.) I'd have to say the title fits! I have read a few of her biographies over the years and have most enjoyed her stories as one of the first dancers in America.

Maria Tallchief has been hailed as the "First American Ballerina", seeing as she was truly AMERICAN(Native American, I forget which tribe and part Irish, I could be incorrect on that part.)
Tallchief's father was a full-blooded Osage Indian and her mother was of Scottish, Irish, AND Dutch heritage.