This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

i'm no expert here at all.

i have been told that to play PAL dvds from the region covered by england, france, etc. one's dvd player needs to be 'adjusted' to do so AND one needs a tv that has a PAL-compatible.

but as i say, i'm no expert.

my player has been adjusted and my tv can play PAL tapes.

maybe others can chime in w/ more expert opinions and advice.

Guest learnin

Hi Solor,

Just went through this myself. I also have a Compaq Presario, running Windows ME. I had to download a DIVX Player. You get it at website www.divx.com/divx

There are three choices for players on that site. Download the one on the left. After you download it, you'll automatically get instructions on how to install it. Once done, you should be able to view your video. By the way, the software is free.

Learnin

Guest learnin

The DIVX Player I mentioned works for video on CD. If your disc is a DVD format, that's different. If you don't know anyone with a DVD player connected to their TV, stop in at a store such as Tweeter and see if it will play on a DVD. If it does, you'll need that kind of player. If not, go to a computer supply store. The smaller ones are more willing to help. I went locally to a place called Computer Renaissance. They downloaded the DIVX Player onto a CD and only charged $1 for the CD itself. The video CD/DIVX area is still the wild wild west. No de facto standards have emerged yet. Good Luck!

Learnin

Two suggestions: