This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Journey Home

Did anyone else see this? (I know at least one Ballet Alertnik was there opening night! Speak up!)

I reviewed it for the Post:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/artic...0-2002Apr5.html

I won't comment further until someone else does :cool:

The audience seemed to love it. It got a very, very warm reception. I thought it was a mess. Great music, dancers giving it their all, but no depth and no consistency.

What did you think?

Guest ballerinaDEDG

I went to see The Washington Ballet perform today and I could not have been any more excited about it. It was absolutely amazing and wonderful. I had gotten to see little parts of it in rehearsal as I am a student at the school, but the finshed product was just...I can't even find the right word. :cool:Blue Until June was marvelous. Talk about athleticism and stamina! Etta James' music went a lot very well with Trey McIntyre's choreography, and the dancer's carried across the varying emotions in the piece very well.

Three Preludes is a beautiful, romantic piece. It's lovely to have the pianist on the stage. The first section is very inventive as they incorporate a center barre into the pas de duex choreopgraphy.

Journey Home is absolutely fantastic. The music, performed live by Sweet Honey in the Rock, is strong and exciting. The dancing is sensational. The collaboration between Sweet Honey and the company was great.

I'm very sorry. I have trouble expressing everything. It was just so fabulous that I find it hard to say everything exactly how I want to. Hope this is okay. I hope others enjoyed it as much as I did.

Deirdre

AT, I saw your review in the Post.Now I'm really curious to see it for myself! I'll be seeing it in a few weeks-know there won't be live Sweet Honey, but hope for a live pianist! It's always interesting to see what Septime Webre's up to.Will have to compare notes after I see it.:)