This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

"Swan Lake" a la Liam Scarlett (what to expect .....)

mnacenani

Yet another deconstructed-and-reconstructed classic is in the offing it seems ..... no escape these days whether be it opera, ballet or food ..... the end is nigh :

http://www.roh.org.uk/news/how-choreographer-liam-scarlett-is-reimagining-swan-lake

(in my early teens when I was a student at an English school in Istanbul one of our teachers, when he didn't think the answer he got in reply to his question made sense, used to say " rubbish ..... tripe ..... balderdash !!"  Can't figure out why this came to my mind now .....)

Edited by mnacenani

The production it replaces was hideous, many lifetime balletomanes took one look and never went back.  The tragedy was that the previous version was wonderful and there was no reason to ditch it.

Part of me thinks nothing could be worse than what we've endured for the last couple of decades, I'll certainly go and see it and will report back if anyone is interested.   Quite upset that this SL also be set in the late 19th century, I've a fear of getting more of the same.

1 hour ago, Mashinka said:

The tragedy was that the previous version was wonderful and there was no reason to ditch it.

I had seen a RB production of Swan Lake with Guillem and Legris in (I think) 1993 which was very good (with costumes by Valentino or something). This must have been the "previous version" you have referred to.

My memory is that the Dowell production was at least respectful of the traditional Swan Lake choreographic template that, I infer, goes back to Nicholas Sergeyev/Ninette de Valois. I'm hoping Scarlett doesn't mess with that too much. (Though if there are to be non-traditional elements, I was mostly hoping we would get back the Ashton Act III pas de quatre; I gather that is not in the offing.)