This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Matthew Bourne's Sleeping Beauty Fall Engagement at City Center

Field trip!

You don't suppose it will tour elsewhere?

I expect it may well do! Surely once they get it across the pond it's easier to visit a few other North American venues.

I'm keeping an eye on various venue websites as well as Matthew Bourne's.

I was also thinking of seeing "Sleeping Beauty" at City Center, although I have not enjoyed Matthew Bourne's choreography in the past. Does anyone recommend it?

I saw it last night and, even though I have always been curious about what Bourne does, I was mostly disappointed. If you never liked Bourne's ballets, I'd say, skip this one.

I saw the Bourne SB tonight. I found the production entertaining, but did not find the dancing attractive or interesting. It reminded me of teenage amateur modern dance recitals. I have little experience with contemporary ballet or modern dance. Is the dancing in SB representative of contemporary ballet or modern dance in content, style, or quality? Based on tonight's SB, I wonder whether contemporary dancers ever straighten a knee, finger, or elbow, point a foot, lift a leg to 90 degrees in arabesque, achieve any elevation in a jump, or turn with a leg more than slightly lifted off the floor. I feel like I am missing something.

I have little experience with contemporary ballet or modern dance. Is the dancing in SB representative of contemporary ballet or modern dance in content, style, or quality? Based on tonight's SB, I wonder whether contemporary dancers ever straighten a knee, finger, or elbow, point a foot, lift a leg to 90 degrees in arabesque, achieve any elevation in a jump, or turn with a leg more than slightly lifted off the floor. I feel like I am missing something.