This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Merce Cunningham

I watched a documentary on Merce Cunningham today, and I don't understand his appeal.

So many of his techniques seem like gimmicks to me -- the dancing is not with the music but just happens at the same time as the music -- the use of chance to generate choreography -- any "natural" movement is dance -- etc.

What am I missing?

All I know is that when I studied Cunningham technique with Viola Farber at Adelphi University for 3 years back in the 1960s, it was as hard as Graham technique to master. And when you finally "get" it, and the movement feels right, (at least) the dancer is enjoying and appreciating and having fun with Cunningham.

As far as "any natural movement is dance" -- we had to perfect the use of natural movements and integrate them into intricate steps which were not possible to do without training. I found Cunningham to be extremely exhilirating -- both while watching his company and while performing the choreography we were taught.

I watched a documentary on Merce Cunningham today, and I don't understand his appeal.

So many of his techniques seem like gimmicks to me -- the dancing is not with the music but just happens at the same time as the music -- the use of chance to generate choreography -- any "natural" movement is dance -- etc.

What am I missing?

Working backwards on your post:

I'm glad you are still interested, and will try to address your reactions and question. First, what you are missing is the experience of the dance in performance, by the Merce Cunningham Dance Company. I don't know which documentary you saw, but I do suggest you see the company when you can, and let us know what you think.