Jump to content

This site uses cookies. By using this site, you agree to accept cookies, unless you've opted out. (US government web page with instructions to opt out: http://www.usa.gov/optout-instructions.shtml)

2002 Princess Grace Awards

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 sneds


    Bronze Circle

  • Inactive Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts

Posted 23 October 2002 - 07:09 AM

The awards ceremony was last night, but I can't find any news about it. Does anyone know who the dance awardees are for this coming year (Michelle Jiminez??)?


#2 Alexandra


    Board Founder

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,301 posts

Posted 23 October 2002 - 08:04 AM

Hi, Sneds. I know that Michele Jimenez did win a Princess Grace Award -- don't know about any others. (I thought there was only one!)

At least two other Washingtonians have won in the past -- Amanda McKerrow, then of the Washington School of Ballet, and Maria Bystrova, then of the Kirov Academy (and presently languishing in the corps of ABT, for reasons that are inscrutable to me). I thought this was a student award, and was surprised when Jimenez won it -- she's way past the student stage.

Does anyone know about the background of the award? Has it changed? Or was there always a student award and a professional award?

#3 sneds


    Bronze Circle

  • Inactive Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts

Posted 23 October 2002 - 08:40 AM

There are at least three different awards that ballet dancers can receive from the Princess Grace-USA Foundation. There are fellowships, scholarships, and the Chris Hellman Dance Award which can be a fellowship or scholarship. In recent years they've also given dance honorariums.
It seems that at least three, sometimes four or more ballet dancers get awards, as well as a few modern and ethic dancers.

The fellowships, I believe, pay for the dancer's salary for one year (Michelle Jiminez in 2002-03 and Jared Angle in 2001-02 are recent fellowship awardees).

There are also scholarships for stuedents-Ashlee Knapp received one in 2001-02.
There also is the Chris Hellman Dance Award which is a dance (ballet fellowship). Ricardo Torres was the receipient last year.


#4 Calliope


    Gold Circle

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 805 posts

Posted 23 October 2002 - 09:21 AM

They have a website that includes past winners and explanations of the awards


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Help support Ballet Alert! and Ballet Talk for Dancers year round by using this search box for your amazon.com purchases. (If it doesn't appear below, your computer's or browser's adblockers may have blocked display):