This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

NYCB winter 2017 promotions

Yaaayyy I just clapped and my roommate was all surprised and wondered what the hell happened! I am thrilled for all, but mostly for Unity, Indiana, Joseph and Harrison. These are not surprising and they were a long time coming. I am thrilled to see them finally happen!

Edited by sohalia

If I had been living in a co-op instead of a condo, the co-op board might have booted me from the building after the commotion I made early in the morning when I learned that Shizuka Arakawa won the Olympic gold medal in 2006 ;)

Congratulations to all of the dancers :flowers:  I got to see some of them on Opening Night last Fall.

I had a list of people I thought would get promoted and I got all the corps members right ! I'm sort of excited because I'm new to the ballet world (2 years), so I guess it means that I have an okay eye and that I am approaching and "appreciating" this wonderful art form correctly ! I'm very happy for all the dancers who got promoted. I saw most of them in Saratoga and I was blown away by their talent. Congratulations !

Fabulous news! Especially happy to see Sara Adams -- sometimes it seems as if she's been rather underutilized in the corps, so it'll be great to see her with more opportunities. Also really happy to see Emilie Gerrity promoted -- while there's not as much "name recognition" as with Unity Phelan, Indiana Woodward, et al., she's really developed a lovely magnetism on stage within the past few years.

BalletontheRocks, I was a bit surprised as well, but there's such a depth of talent in the corps that it may take a few cycles to get all of the future soloists moved up. My guess is that Ashley Hod, Alexa Maxwell, and Claire Kretzschmar will be part of the next "batch" (perhaps with Miriam Miller as well, though perhaps she'll be moving on her own trajectory). What a great time to be in the City Ballet audience!