• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 pherank

pherank

Platinum Circle

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,210 posts

Posted 28 June 2013 - 12:44 PM

On the SFB blog there's a good starter article regarding stage managing...it left me wanting to know even more:

http://www.sfballetb...-101/#more-6754

By Jane Green
Stage Manager for San Francisco Ballet
June 25, 2013

#2 sandik

sandik

Rubies Circle

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,349 posts

Posted 28 June 2013 - 09:10 PM

Thanks so much for the link -- as a former stage manager, I'm always pleased to see the position get some attention.  (and I thought it was interesting that Ms Green is from the University of Washington, in my home town!  I'm not sure if it's a trend, but Pacific Northwest Ballet has often had female stage managers.)

#3 bart

bart

Diamonds Circle

• Board Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,320 posts

Posted 29 June 2013 - 06:03 AM

Yes, thank you for the link.  As with you, it left me wanting to "know more" about the complete process.  Audiences seem to be fascinated by the workings of the backstage -- to wit, the many audience members who sit through  the complete, and lengthy back-stage intermission scenes at the Met HD/Live.  So many just watch, without moving, without talking,

As a one-time super in a large-scale Nutcracker, I was able to observe from a number of angles the things that Ms. Green writes about. But I would have loved to hear her (or other stage manager) talk about what actually is being done.  Opening up the behind-the-curtain world of stage managing, design, lighting, sets and costumes is something ballet companies should do more of.

#4 Mme. Hermine

Mme. Hermine

Emeralds Circle

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,707 posts

Posted 29 June 2013 - 06:14 AM

Boston Ballet has had a few female stage managers and even a couple where the wife was the stage manager and the husband the house manager.

#5 LiLing

LiLing

• PipPipPip
  • 205 posts