This site uses cookies. By using this site, you agree to accept cookies, unless you've opted out. (US government web page with instructions to opt out: http://www.usa.gov/optout-instructions.shtml)

Le Corsaire, Romeo and Juliet or Sleeping Beauty

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 ord7916

ord7916

• PipPip
  • 69 posts

Posted 28 May 2013 - 10:29 AM

I am new to ballet. I saw the opening night gala two weeks ago, and then Don Quixote with Reyes / Cornejo. Based on recommendations on here, I'll be seeing Swan Lake with Part and Stearns on 6/18.

If I were to go to one other this year, which of the three above would it be? And any particular stars worth seeing?

#2 angelica

angelica

Bronze Circle

• PipPipPipPip
  • 488 posts

Posted 28 May 2013 - 12:53 PM

I'd cast my vote for Vishneva/Gomes in R&J. In fact, I'd cast two votes for that. The dancing will be heartbreakingly beautiful and the music is gorgeous. It would be worth seeing for the music of The Dance of the Capulets alone.

#3 ord7916

ord7916

• PipPip
  • 69 posts

Posted 28 May 2013 - 12:55 PM

To partly answer my own question, it looks like the only one I can fit in my schedule is Le Corsaire on 6/7/ or 6/8. Is it worth seeing? And would you choose Osipova and Vasiliev or Herrera and Gomes? Everyone raves about Osipova and Vasiliev but everyone on here seems to love Marcelo Gomes.

#4 canbelto

canbelto

Platinum Circle

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,901 posts

Posted 28 May 2013 - 01:01 PM

I know this sounds weird but for 6/7 or 6/8 I would go across the plaza to see the NYCB. Tiler Peck or Ashley Bouder in Theme and Variations is something worth seeing for sure. Or Who Cares? Is another favorite ballet of mine. Tickets are cheaper at the NYCB. I find Corsaire to be a rather weak ballet, no matter who is dancing.

#5 Helene

Helene

Administrator

• Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,332 posts

Posted 28 May 2013 - 01:04 PM

I'd take canbelto's wise advice.