Jump to content

This site uses cookies. By using this site, you agree to accept cookies, unless you've opted out. (US government web page with instructions to opt out: http://www.usa.gov/optout-instructions.shtml)

Erik Bruhn Competition 2012 Results

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 kbarber


    Gold Circle

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 771 posts

Posted 28 November 2012 - 08:33 PM

a clean sweep for the Royal Danish Ballet entry, with Ida Praetorius and Andreas Kaas winning the best dancer awards and Alessandro Sousa Pereira (of Danish Dance Theatre) winning the choreographic prize for his piece "Traditional" to music by Zoe Keating.

#2 mom2


    Bronze Circle

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 251 posts

Posted 28 November 2012 - 08:53 PM

Would love to hear your thoughts on the show tonight. I have posted over on the sister board, Ballet Talk for Dancers.


#3 Dale


    Emeralds Circle

  • Board Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,206 posts

Posted 29 November 2012 - 07:40 AM

Ida Praetorius and Andreas Kaas of The Royal Danish Ballet Win The Erik Bruhn Prize Alessandro Sousa Pereira of The Royal Danish Ballet Wins Choreographic Prize
November 29, 2012... The National Ballet of Canada today announced that Ida Praetorius, 19, and Andreas Kaas, 19, both of The Royal Danish Ballet are the winners of The Tenth International Competition for The Erik Bruhn Prize. The competition took place last night at the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts in Toronto. They each receive a cash prize of $7,500 and a sculpture by Jack Culiner. Alessandro Sousa Pereira also from The Royal Danish Ballet is the winner of the Choreographic Prize for his work, Traditional, and also receives a sculpture by Jack Culiner and a cash prize of $2,000.
Ida Praetorious and Andreas Kaas, members of the Corps de Ballet with The Royal Danish Ballet, danced a pas de deux from The Kermesse in Bruges by Auguste Bournonville for the classical section and Traditional, a new work by Alessandro Sousa Periera, for the contemporary section.
The Audience Choice Awards went to Emma Hawes, 19, of The National Ballet of Canada, James Hay, 23, of The Royal Ballet and Guillaume Côté of The National Ballet of Canada for his new work Enkeli. The audience voted by text for their favourite competitor in all three categories and the results were tabulated backstage.
Dancers and choreographers from American Ballet Theatre, The Hamburg Ballet, The Royal Ballet, The Royal Danish Ballet and The National Ballet of Canada competed for the prestigious prizes.
Principal Dancer Sonia Rodriguez and Artist-in-Residence Rex Harrington hosted the event.
The 2012/13 season is dedicated to the memory of The National Ballet of Canada’s greatest patron Walter Carsen, O.C.
The Tenth International Competition for The Erik Bruhn Prize is presented by John & Claudine Bailey.
Guillaume Côté is sponsored through Dancers First by Emmanuelle Gattuso & Allan Slaight. Ms. Rodriguez was dressed by Chanel.
The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Ontario Arts Council; the City of Toronto through the Economic Development & Culture Department; the Government of Canada through the Honourable James Moore, Minister, the Department of Canadian Heritage; the Government of Ontario; and the Ontario Trillium Foundation.

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Help support Ballet Alert! and Ballet Talk for Dancers year round by using this search box for your amazon.com purchases. (If it doesn't appear below, your computer's or browser's adblockers may have blocked display):