This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Guest Stage Manager Experience - Bayadere - May 25 (Long)

I had what I regarded as the opportunity of a lifetime to be backstage at the Met on May 25th as a “guest stage manager.” (Purchased from http://www.mastercar...cities/newyork/)

A bit of background info – I’m a lifelong balletomane since seeing my first Coppelia in Palm Beach when I was 8 – was it the ballet or the fancy dress and shoes I got to wear, followed by an ice cream sundae at Schrafts, that made me a fan? I’ll never know. And no, I was never a ballerina wanna be – I’m a marine science librarian in Florida – not skinny, not coordinated, not athletic – just your basic ballet nut.

Anyway, I had a ball! It was an incredibly interesting, fun evening with one thrill after another for a lifetime balletomane. I thank all the ABT people who made this possible, particularly the 3 stage managers who gave their time to show me what their jobs entail. I’ve been on 2 other trips since then, so haven’t had the chance to write this up till now. Have been rolling around the evening’s events in my head and have jotted them down as I thought of them – thus the (Long!) disjointed posting below.

The most striking thing I noted during the entire evening was the dichotomy between the “just another day at the office” attitude of the stagehands, stage managers, and even some of the dancers, alongside the formalities, niceties and traditions of the ballet world.

The dancers initial a list when they arrive at the theatre. Then, 30 minutes before starting time, they are expected to check in with the stage manager. The principal dancers did not officially check in (we all know who they are and they are warming up onstage), but the corps and soloists all stopped by and gave last names to be checked off on the list.