This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Barbara Fallis, the first Cuban Myrtha-(1948)

I'm hoping that maybe someone could give me some input on American dancer Barbara Fallis, member of BT during the 40's, who turned out to be our very frist Cuban Myrtha in Havana, 1948. atm711...? tiphat.gif

http://rgrossmusicau...ce2/fallis2.jpg

Fallis with Marjorie Tallchief, Alicia Alonso and Andre Eglevski in Apollo

http://www.danzaball...00Scan10001.jpg

Diana Adams, Barbara Fallis in Shadow of the wind. / (Tudor - Mahler - Mielziner)

http://beinecke.library.yale.edu/dl_crosscollex/brbldl/oneITEM.asp?pid=2029385&iid=1111122&srchtype=VCG

I was so excited to see Barbara Fallis' name. I studied with Barbara Fallis and her husband Richard Thomas for many years, before her death. They ran the New York School of Ballet which has a New York School of Ballet Alumni page on facebook. Richard and Barbara also danced with NYCB. Barbara was an American but was trained in England. Just think, she had worked with Massine, Fokine and Balanchine along the way.

Watching her demonstrate when she taught was amazing. The first time I took her class I remember thinking - she can't really expect everyone to do that! She could also construct a class that would lead you to do things better than you had ever done them. The exercises always built to a purpose and point.

I was in some productions that she staged. In Giselle I did corps, one of the friends and Zulma. I also learned Peasant Pas from her. She had so much insight into stage craft, technique and musicality. I could go on and on! I had no idea she was the first Cuban Myrtha