Jump to content


Weird Behavior on Site


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Helene

Helene

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,573 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 10:26 AM

I've been experiencing some strange behavior on Ballet Alert! -- but not on BT4D :

1.  When I start to type in the "Reply" box, I"m not seeing any formatting options (bold, italic, etc.)

2.  When I edit, I see HTML code.

3.  When I click the "Follow this topic" button, I don't get the dialogue box that allows me to subscribe for notifications.

4.  When I try to "Start New Topic", I get an error message, but if I click the "Okay" button, get a "New Topic" screen.

5.  The logo doesn't appear, just the word "Logo".

Is anyone experiencing these?  If so, I'd appreciate it if you'd confirm here, as well as noting any other weird site behaviors.

#2 sandik

sandik

    Rubies Circle

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,012 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 10:43 AM

Well, I see the formatting tools while I'm replying here. Haven't tried any of the other functions you list.

And don't see any html while I'm editing my comment.

#3 kfw

kfw

    Sapphire Circle

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,153 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 11:12 AM

The problem I've had for months now is attempting to post a link and give it, say, the title of the article it links to. That used to be simple. When I try it now, I get a drop down box labeled "Link Type" with the options "URL," "Link to Anchor in Text," and "Email." The first option just posts the URL with no option to title it. The second gives me the message "No Anchors Available in the Document."

Edited to Add: This is probably an I-Pad and not a site software issue, but when I checked to see if I had the same problem replying on the I-Pad, I had no formatting options there at all.

#4 lovemydancers

lovemydancers

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 12:28 PM

I have had the same issue as kfw with being unable to title links. But everything else looks fine.

#5 Bonnette

Bonnette

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 234 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 02:51 PM

I've been experiencing some strange behavior on Ballet Alert! -- but not on BT4D :

1. When I start to type in the "Reply" box, I"m not seeing any formatting options (bold, italic, etc.)


Hi, Helene. Of the issues you listed, this is the only one I have experienced - and it self-corrected today, as I am now seeing the formatting options (without needing to click on the More Reply Options button).

One issue I'm experiencing which others have not mentioned, is that the Mark All Posts Read link is quite unstable (and I realize that it has to be clicked twice - once to bring up a list of options, and again to select the appropriate option). The Mark All Posts Read links only seem to work for me 50% of the time.

#6 Helene

Helene

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,573 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 04:05 PM

The problem I've had for months now is attempting to post a link and give it, say, the title of the article it links to. That used to be simple. When I try it now, I get a drop down box labeled "Link Type" with the options "URL," "Link to Anchor in Text," and "Email." The first option just posts the URL with no option to title it. The second gives me the message "No Anchors Available in the Document."

Edited to Add: This is probably an I-Pad and not a site software issue, but when I checked to see if I had the same problem replying on the I-Pad, I had no formatting options there at all.


The new software expects you to type in the title, then highlight it, click the "link" icon, and type/paste in the URL.

For example:

This is the link to this topic

vs.

http://balletalert.i...310#entry299310


One issue I'm experiencing which others have not mentioned, is that the Mark All Posts Read link is quite unstable (and I realize that it has to be clicked twice - once to bring up a list of options, and again to select the appropriate option). The Mark All Posts Read links only seem to work for me 50% of the time.

The label was misleading, and I re-labeled it to "Mark Read: Forums/Blogs/All" to note the options.

I suspect "Mark All As Read" is similar to the functionality for "View New Content", which is that somewhere, there are cookies trying to determine what has and hasn't been read/is or isn't new. Some members have had the same issues with both functionality. I've checked the support forums, and there is no insight into this, especially since it's not consistent behavior.


My issues were fixed after I cleared my browser cache, thanks to a suggestion from tech support :flowers:

#7 kfw

kfw

    Sapphire Circle

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,153 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 05:31 PM

The new software expects you to type in the title, then highlight it, click the "link" icon, and type/paste in the URL.

For example:

This is the link to this topic

vs.

http://balletalert.i...310#entry299310


You mean like this? Aha! Thanks.

#8 Helene

Helene

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,573 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 05:43 PM

Yes! I rarely use the box and didn't realize the behavior had changed with the last upgrade. I don't understand why such a good feature was removed.

#9 LiLing

LiLing

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 205 posts

Posted 25 February 2012 - 09:20 PM

<DIV>I have been getting a lot of extra characters in my posts, which I then use the edit feature to delete.&amp;nbsp; Very strange and annoying!<IMG

#10 Helene

Helene

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,573 posts

Posted 25 February 2012 - 09:27 PM

If you're seeing <DIV> tags, then you're having the same HTML problem I had. I solved it by clearing my browser history from cache.

If most of what you're getting is codes like "&amp;nbsp;", they are encoding issues. If you're copying and pasting from an article, there's an encoding conflict. If it's only when you enter data, then you might check your browser encoding settings.

#11 cubanmiamiboy

cubanmiamiboy

    Diamonds Circle

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,160 posts

Posted 26 February 2012 - 01:42 PM

Me, when editing a post, I have to make sure to separate paragraphs and youtube links, as sometimes they show up all glued together, either in the editing window or in the final post. Showing all the emoticons was easier before too. Also, I REALLY miss the showing of the subtitle under the thread's title.

#12 Helene

Helene

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,573 posts

Posted 26 February 2012 - 01:57 PM

Embedded YouTube links are a new feature with Version 3, and you do need to put in a line break before they'll be recognized by the software.

I think the separate emoticon window was removed because it's not mobile friendly, and the two interfaces are based on the mobile app.

Are you using the mobile app? That's a separate interface. IPB removed the subtitles in this version, and someone wrote code to display them on the regular, non-mobile site, but I don't think the modification was extended to the mobile version. You can add thread subtitles, and admins can edit them, but the modification doesn't allow us to edit or add forum descriptions (that look like subtitles). The mobile version is not new, but not that many people were using it until iPads became so common.

If you're using the regular version, please link to a page where you can't see the subtitles, because I see them on thread and forum pages.

#13 carbro

carbro

    Late Board Registrar

  • Rest in Peace
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,361 posts

Posted 26 February 2012 - 07:35 PM

Windows XP/Firefox 10.something. I don't see subtitles in the View New Posts menu, either, only on the topic's page once it's open.

#14 cubanmiamiboy

cubanmiamiboy

    Diamonds Circle

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,160 posts

Posted 26 February 2012 - 08:44 PM

Oh God, Helene...I can make any sense of all you said. I know...that's how behind I am on computers... Posted Image

#15 Helene

Helene

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,573 posts

Posted 26 February 2012 - 09:41 PM

Windows XP/Firefox 10.something. I don't see subtitles in the View New Posts menu, either, only on the topic's page once it's open.


I'm on a MacBook with Firefox 10.0.2 and Safari 5.1.3, and I see subtitles on the Forum and Thread pages. The modification I purchased does not extend to search results, which is what "View New Content" is. Cristian didn't mention "View New Posts", only that the subtitles no longer appear.


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Help support Ballet Alert! and Ballet Talk for Dancers year round by using this search box for your amazon.com purchases (adblockers may block display):