This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Alice in wonderland on tour?

Hi,

I am new to ballet, enthusiast though. I have a very naive question about how ballet shows are organised: do ballet shows usually go on tour in different theatres? and where to get information about such tours? E.g.there is currently an "Alice in wonderland" by C. Wheeldon at the Royal Opera House in London. Will this ballet go on tour in other theatres? And how to get info on this?

Thanks for your help!

Welcome to BalletAlert!, gippo.

Since the Royal Ballet is the first and only company to present this production -- at least so far -- your best bet is to go to its website and submit your question using the Contact Us link at the bottom of the screen.

Usually, the ballet company in conjunction with the management of the theater they're visiting mutually decide on what repertory to present. It depends on what ballets are currently in repertoire and which ones are expected to to sell a lot of tickets.

It's a good many years since the Royal Ballet troupe based at Covent Garden toured in the UK although they do make visits overseas. So I think it unlikely that you can catch it anywhere but at the Royal Opera House and tickets for this six performance run have been sold out for months. I believe it will be shown again next season and it's always possible that it may be filmed in order to be shown on TV.

Hi,

I am new to ballet, enthusiast though. I have a very naive question about how ballet shows are organised: do ballet shows usually go on tour in different theatres? and where to get information about such tours? E.g.there is currently an "Alice in wonderland" by C. Wheeldon at the Royal Opera House in London. Will this ballet go on tour in other theatres? And how to get info on this?

Thanks for your help!

Gippo,