This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Swan Lake

I saw the performance of Swan Lake featuring Irina Dvorovenko/Maxim Beloserkovsky tonight.

Dancing van Rothbart: Gomes

Benno: Daniil Simkin

Act I Pas de Trois: Simkin, Sarah Lane, Isabella Boylston

Cygnettes: Yuriko Kajiya, Marian Butler, Misty Copeland, Maria Riccetto

Two Swans: *Hee Seo* and Stella Abrera

Regular swans include Kristi Boone, Leann Underwood

Princesses: Misty Copeland, Luciana Paris, Anne Milewski, Yuriko Kajiya

Act III Dances:

--Czardas: Marian Butler and Alexi Agoudine leading

-- Spanish Dance: *Cory Stearns*, Maria Bystrova, Roman Zhurbin, Karen Uphoff

-- Neapolitan: Joseph Phillips, Craig Salstein

-- Mazurka: Includes Leann Underwood, Alexandre Hammoudi, Patrick Ogle, *Eric Tamm*

This is my first time viewing either member of the lead couple in any role. I found Irina D a very calm Odette who was beautiful, but not moving in Act II. She was more effective in Act III -- as Odile. I didn't like Maxim B's prince. Perhaps it is due to his recent injury (which prompted Hallberg to be substituted for Maxim B's role beside Nina A last week) or his not being among the younger danseurs, but his jumps lacked height. His face has a "plastic", almost face-lifted kind of look that was only deviated from rarely (one deviation was in the final scene as he showed anguish as Odette is about to go to her doom). I have to say that the only ABT Swan Lakes I have seen are Hallberg/Wiles versions. And that is my preferred ABT pairing (even as the pairing was emerging over time), so it's in some ways unfair, but, not unexpectedly, I far preferred the Hallberg/Wiles versions from prior years to tonight's performance. But that doesn't mean, obviously, that somebody else would feel the same way. I did enjoy tonight's performance -- Irina D's interpretation more than Maxim B's.