This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

What do you need to know?

I was thinking about: What does one actually need to know to appreciate ballet? There is no doubt in my mind that the more one knows about a topic, the deeper one's appreciation, the more subtlety and nuance one is open to, the richer the experience. Whether we speak of Skiing, or sailing, or guitars or ballet we can enjoy these "things" with very little specific "technical" knowledge because of the big broad overarching qualities that reach almost anyone who has 5 senses.

Ballet Talk has been a learning lab for me, as I have no background in dance and came to it because of my initial curiosity and a general attraction to the arts and artists. The discussions here have informed me, drawn me into see things about ballet that I never would have, have given a more enjoyment and insight of what is going on. I am far, far, far away from an expert, as I have no practical experience as many on BT do (thanks so much to each and every one of them), but what are the steps or levels of knowledge of the art that "we", the general public, need to have, before we begin to really get what this wonderful art form is? Can this even be identified? How do John Q and Jane Q get this bump up in awareness?

I would like to hear the opinions of both those who have been involved professionally with ballet, and those who have never been in a studio or involved in a production.

This is such an interesting set of questions. Llike you, SanderO, I've learned so much on Ballet Talk -- "things" that I had only dimly been aware of even after several decades of very frequent ballet attendance.

I hope you'll get many responses to your post. In my own case, the process of learning -- especially about technical matters -- was rather disorderly.