This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Looking for information on Maria Swoboda!!!!!

Hi! I am trying to find out more information about Maria Swoboda. Her name before she married was Maria Yurieva. Perhaps you may know of her husband, Vecheslav Swoboda. I have a scrapbook that I believe was her's and wanted to learn more about her. I pretty much all I could find on the internet about her was the info on http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html...75BC0A961948260

I would love to hear any personal stories or information you have about her. I love learning about ballerinas from years ago. Thank you so much!

What a rush of memories the name brought back!

I studied with Maria Swoboda in NYC from 1953 until early sixties, at the Ballet Russe School on W 54th (near 7th Ave.).

She was a caring teacher, with a no-nonsense approach to teaching and life. She was not particularly intellectual in methodology, but made clear to every student what she expected of each in class.

The carriage of arms she taught in all combinations was particularly challenging (in that it avoided the conventional wind-milling arms) and promoted attention to epaulement.

Irina Koutchoubey, who worked as an administrator for Denham, told me she had seen Mme Swoboda’s debut at sixteen (she was then Maria Yurieva) at the Bolshoi in Moscow.

I asked her for a photo once. It was a glossy 8x10 probably from Chicago. She wore a voluminous white tutu and was on pointe in a sort of allonge/penche fourth arabesque.

Sadly, I’ve lost it.

A few of us would go out for dinner with her mid-week when she stayed in a small apt. in the area before she left for Lakewood on week-ends. I have fond memories of some small Italian restaurants in the area of the school, as well as (rarely) the Russian Tea Room on 57th st..