What's your favorite ballet video?

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 petitallegro

petitallegro

• PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 06 June 2001 - 03:59 PM

I'm trying to start building a ballet video/music collection for myself. Any suggestions of good recordings of things? Since I'm a student (and, therefore, poor...) I don't want to waste my money. :)

#2 BalletNut

BalletNut

Silver Circle

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 573 posts

Posted 06 June 2001 - 05:13 PM

Here is what I have and can recommend:
1. Swan Lake: Royal Ballet, with Natalia Makarova and Anthony Dowell, Kultur video. Lovely sets and costumes, and for me it is the definitive version.
2. La Bayadere: Also Royal Ballet, with Altynai Asylmuratova, Irek Mukhamedov, Darcey Bussell. All three principals are wonderful, and very well cast I think. Also from Kultur.
3. Balanchine Library, Volume 1: Tzigane, Divertimento 15, and 4 Temperaments: All of the videos in this series are good, but this is, IMO, the best. I ordered mine from NYCB's gift shop online, and I plan on someday owning all of them. They are, however, more expensive than the Kultur videos.
4. Coppelia, Australian Ballet, Kultur. This one is probably the only truly first-rate Coppelia video out there right now. Lisa Pavane and Greg Horsman are the leads.
5. Le Corsaire, ABT--Not a very serious or accessible ballet, but it's loads of fun to watch. I taped mine off PBS but I think Kultur sells it.
6. Mariinsky Ballet-Kirov Classics: Nice "mixed bill" video that includes Chopiniana [aka Les Sylphides], an avant garde version of Petrushka that I just fast-forward through, Barber's Adagio, Le Corsaire pdd, The Fairy Doll, Markitenka [aka Le Vivandiere], and Paquita. It's a good way to see many of the Kirov's stars. It too is from Kultur.

I have other videos as well, but these seem to be the best deals for my money, as I too am a student and have a very limited income.

#3 Nora

Nora

• PipPip
  • 60 posts

Posted 06 June 2001 - 06:04 PM