This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Question on Edward Villella (from a newbie)

Lissbirds

Hello all--

I am new to this board and I'm only a novice observer of ballet. (Even though I might not know all of the terminology and history, I do love it very much!) Anyway, my mother is the person who introduced me to ballet (from when I was a little girl she would take me to see the NYCB at their summer residence) and she always is telling me about how when she was young she saw Edward Villella in a production of Prodigal Son and how she loved it--("He jumped so high it was like I could reach my hand out and touch him from the balcony!") I am hoping to surprise her this Christmas with a video recording of one of Villella's performances, but, alas, I have had no luck in finding any. From what I can tell, a Prodical Son production starring Villella was never filmed, so I have given up hope in that respect. But I am asking you if anyone knows if any other of his ballets are available on video/DVD, and I would even settle for a video of clips and highlights from his career. I thank you all in advance and I am so happy that such a great ballet resource is out there on the web!

--Melissa :happy:

There's a video of a 1968 film about Villella which won an Emmy, called "Man Who Dances." It's a sort of cinema verite piece, a little arty but better than nothing. My copy came from Direct Cinema Limited. I don't know if they're still in business, but for what it's worth, they were In Santa Monica, CA and their phone number was (310) 396-4774.

Perhaps better would be a copy of Villella's autobiography,"Prodigal Son." This has several photos, among them a spectacular one of his leap which shows exactly what your mother is talking about. It was published in 1992 and is out of print, but I'm sure is available from used booksellers like abebooks.com. Good luck.