This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Royal Ballet US Tour--Giselle

Friday found me at the stratosphere section at the OCPAC watching Giselle. The air up here is thin but we sure are having fun, could it be onset of hypoxia? Anyway Miyako Yoshida danced Giselle, Federico Bonelli as count Albrecht and Zenaida Yanowsky as Myrtha. Now this is my first time writing about a ballet that I saw so I'm not going into the technics and terms of how they danced, but I do wish to be fluent of them someday. Ms. Yoshida was great in her portrayal of the fragile Giselle, although the role of Giselle has been danced by many ballerinas through out the world, but still it is interesting to see an Asian playing a supposedly Bavarian farm girl. Ms. Yoshida danced with sureness of a concrete foundation, her turns and pointe works are spot on. Her acting was in keeping of a frail girl protected by her mother, but from my powerful pair of binocular through out act one she was grinning way too much. Ms. Yoshida's mad scene was great, her facial expressions and her body languages bring tears to my eyes and that was not because of the thin air up where we were.

Mr. Boncelli and Ms. Yoshida in act two were perfect as far as I can see. They make Giselle so weightless that she seems to float. Everytime Albrecht lifts her, she would just seems to drift away from him, perfect.